El Badi Palace, Marrakesh, Morocco, location of the Awards ceremony in 1986.

The brief prepared by the Steering Committee for this award cycle focused on the preservation and continuation of cultural heritage, community building and social housing, and excellence in contemporary architectural expression.

Six winners were chosen from among 213 entries.[7] The conservation of Mostar Old Town and restoration of Al-Aqsa Mosque were examples of cultural heritage, the first theme, while the Yama Mosque and Bhong Mosque were noted for their innovation in translating traditional techniques and materials to meet contemporary requirements. The Social Security Complex and Dar Lamane Housing address the issues of community and social housing while remaining sensitive to local culture.

The award ceremony took place at El Badi Palace in Marrakesh, Morocco. During this cycle, the Chairman’s Award was given to Rifat Chadirji.

Award recipients:

  • Conservation of Mostar Old Town, Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Restoration of Al-Aqsa Mosque, Jerusalem

  • Bhong Mosque, Pakistan


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

desainer arsitektur dan interior

%d bloggers like this: